Understanding legal terminology can be difficult, especially as it can differ between states. A felony always carries a harsh connotation, but what exactly is a felony according to Oregon law, and what do you do if you’re accused of one?
The Definition of “Felony”
Under Oregon law, a felony is any crime with a penalty of more than one year in prison. However, what qualifies as a felony is rather broad, encompassing various crimes with varying degrees of severity.
This definition also means that what qualifies as a felony depends on the consequences more so than on the crime itself. In all cases, however, a felony is considered a serious offense that gets extended prison time.
Types of Felonies
In Oregon, there are four classifications a felony can fall into. These classifications have different associated sentence lengths and severities. Classifying felonies in this way allows everyone to understand the circumstances better.
Class A felonies include crimes such as assault, arson, and sex crimes. These crimes are punishable by a maximum of 20 years.
Class B felonies include second-degree manslaughter and extortion and can be punished with up to 10 years in prison.
Class C felonies include “joyriding” and dog fighting, and they can be punished with up to 5 years in prison.
Finally, unclassified felonies fall outside of this system. Unclassified felonies each have their own maximum sentence, making them impossible to categorize.
Know Your Rights
Being accused of a felony is a serious charge, and if you’re convicted, you’ll face at least a year in prison. No matter what crime you’ve been accused of, you have the right to defend yourself in court with a lawyer who has your back. Pedemonte Law can help you protect and exercise your rights by taking on your case. Contact us today to learn more about how we can defend you.